My Project Experience and Defense

All my university life I’ve been waiting, praying and prepping for this blog post and today, it’s here! And I’m forever grateful for this special moment in my life 🤍.

In May 2023, I began my project journey. First, I got my project topic (The Effects of Dacryodes edulis ethanolic leaf extract on Streptozotocin-Induced diabetic Wistar rat) and then, I felt lost. I did not know how to arrange my work to make sense, but I started somewhere anyway.

When school resumed, we had a meeting with my project supervisor, he went through my work and said that I’ve not started 😭. I can’t count the number of times he corrected my work, he only accepted printed work, and you know what that means, extra work! 😭. It took me three months (October-December) to write my Chapter One (Introduction) and Chapter Two (Literature Review) 😩. During the three months of writing, research, typing and printing of Chapter One and Two, I cried a lot and at some point, it was so tough for me that I literally felt like giving up my project. I did so much research, and it felt like I was working on a PhD research work 😭.

After my final exams in October, my project group was merged with other groups, and it became a project joined group. We began feeding of rats in the same month and administration of drugs began in November. During the Christmas break, I typed my references and worked on my Chapter Three (Experimental procedure). When I resumed school in the second week of January, I submitted my chapter three for review by my project supervisor. Meanwhile, my chapter one and two which I submitted before the Christmas break were reviewed the same day my chapter three was reviewed, and he told me to do more research. I was so tired and overwhelmed 😢. Three days to defense day, my histological result was released. Without Chapter Four (Results), the project is incomplete. Two days to defense day, we had a meeting with my supervisor, and he explained chapter four and chapter five in details.

A few hours to defense day, that was when I wrote my abstract 😫. Thankfully, I already wrote my dedication and acknowledgment at home when my mind was calm. Then, I went to print my project. Lo and behold, I saw my coursemates lined up to print their project as well 😅. I left the house by 4pm and arrived home by 11pm. I sat down, edited the words and arranged my work at the computer center using their laptop. I’ve actually been arranging my work since I began my project work, but I was using a phone, so it was scattered when transferred to the laptop. I dared myself on this day, I did what I planned to do. Not only did I do it, but I did it right! I researched, wrote, typed, arranged and edited my Chapter Five (Summary) and preamble in hours and this is something I struggled to do for three months last year. It was once a “how possible would this be?” and now, it is a throwback. Lol. What a life! Welcome to the world of endless possibilities, my darlings 🤍✨

Using a phone to type and edit a complete project is insane! Those who engage in this act are known as “Odugwu” example Our Favourite Blogger 😂🤣. Honestly, being a Writer and Blogger helped me a lot in the areas of research, writing, typing, editing, arrangement and delivery of an excellent project ✨. One thing about my university journey? It is the definition of God’s excellence. I am so grateful to be a Writer and Blogger in this lifetime ☺️🤍.

My friend sent these beautiful messages during one of my difficult times, and it stuck with me. Again, thank you, Mmesoma ❤️. I thought to share with you, my darlings 🤍.

Project defense began on 29th January 2024, but I did mine the next day, I needed to prepare and practice very well 😊.

On 30th January 2024, I had my project defense! 🥳. I woke up very early to prepare, I was so tensed and kept rehearsing for the defense. I got into the hall, I greeted my external supervisor, he welcomed me and told me to take a seat. He asked for my state of origin and local government area, I told him, and then we both exchanged greetings in my language ☺️. I became less tensed and happier. He asked me to introduce my topic and summarize everything I did. He went through my results and I answered the questions he asked correctly. I read my abstract, he went through my chapter two and made a correction, where he said that preamble comes before diagrams in literature review. He kept saying “I love that” 😊, and at some point, he told me about his project defense experience. He said that he was once like me 🥹, defending his project and he asked me whether I will further my studies here, immediately I said, “Yes with a smile”. Hmm! 😅🤣. Then, he told me that his done, and I ended my discussion with a thank you and left the defense hall so happy! I couldn’t stop smiling 🥰. I really enjoyed my project defense ☺️.

I had a successful Project Defense!!! I am so excited! 🥳🥳🥳. Thank you Jesus! Thank you God 🙏🏽.

On 1st February 2024, I checked my result and I had an “A” 😭❤️💃. My External Supervisor scored me very well 😊. I laid down on the floor speechless, praying, thanking my El Rio 🥹 and filled with so much joy and gratitude. My prayers were answered! Thank you Lord. I’m screaming! Give way for the latest graduate!! 🥳

I called my parents and messaged my siblings and loved ones. I felt fulfilled! Ah! What a beautiful life 🥹😭❤️.

My favourite girl (coursemate) and I 😍. We did it!!! 🥳

It’s the blue and black outfit for me. First, I thought about this outfit, then it took me days before I could combine the shoes, hair, gown, jewelries, shades together to make it an absolutely stunning look! 😍😍😍

What’s a special day without me slaying? Lol. It’s a lifestyle, hun 😌😍🤩✨

It’s the way I look more beautiful, gorgeous and better than I’ve ever been or felt since the start of my journey in this university! None of my old uni pictures can be compared to the way I felt here. I am beyond grateful to have graced this university with my presence (a gift from God) 🥹😌❤️.

Here are some key lessons I learned during the period of my project:
•Keep trying! Keep going. Never give up! You got this! Write affirmations to yourself. Breakdown tasks into simpler and easier tasks, so it won’t feel like a burden or stress to you and start preparing early ✨

•Take everything one step at a time.

Pray: According to Matthew 6 vs 33; Seek first the Kingdom of God, and all other things shall be added unto you. Before I started my project, I told God who I wanted as my project supervisor. They were actually two lectures and He gave me the best! Also, God started this research work with me and took it to a successful completion. If God can do it for me, then He can absolutely do the same and even more for you, according to His words in Luke 1 vs 37 and Ephesians 3 vs 20-21.

•My Project Supervisor made me believe more in myself and my capabilities, work on my self-worth, self-awareness, and act accordingly. I can never forget what he told me, he said, “Because someone at a high position published a research work, does not mean it is flawless”. My Project Supervisor is a PhD holder.

•I realized that challenges makes me more knowledgeable. I can handle challenges better now.

•I have reduced the consumption of carbonated drinks. I have reduced sipping soaked garri with sugar and very sugary foods and snacks. I exercise every day. It has transformed my body and life forever.

•It made me see and live in my uniqueness and always remember to create and live excellently because life can always get better 🤍.

This project has been impactful towards my health. As a passionate person, I can confirm that this is a project that should be taken more seriously in the country, especially in the area of diabetes. I have reduced my sugar consumption, which includes low consumption of “fast foods” because it is typically high in refined sugar and low in fibers. It may not be an easy practice, but it will really be beneficial when you grow older because diabetes is the most common cause of dementia in old age. Prevention is better than cure 🤍.

This research work is dedicated to diabetic patients worldwide, hoping this will pave the way for improved health. Thank you ❤️✨.

I have fought the good fight, I have completed my course and I have kept the faith. ~ 2nd Timothy 4 vs 7

Congratulations to us, Class of ‘22 we did it! 🥳 and to my project supervisor as well, to all who celebrates me, and most especially, to My El Rio. All glory belongs to God 🤍. Thank you Lord for this blessing 🙏🏽. This is just the start of the great things God will do in my life. Here, we keep growing and glowing ☺️❤️. Once again, Congratulations to Our Latest Graduate! 🥳🥳🥳

Thank you, yes you! for your support and encouragement during the course of my study in the university. God bless 🙏🏽❤️.

I came, I saw and I conquered ✨

Happy New Month, My Art of True Zeal Family,

Are you a university student or graduate?
How was the period of your project?
You’re welcome to share.

Welcome to my birth month 🥰🤩🥳

All my amazing pictures and posts on Instagram: https://instagram.com/artoftruezeal?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

For the best work contact: okonjanetreuben@gmail.com

READ NEXT:

Welcome to My Final Year in the University:

My Internship Work Experience, Seminar Presentation and Defense:

The First Day of My Final Semester in the University:

Romanticizing My Final Year in the University & The Struggles:

Final Year Week for Anatomy Class of 2022:

I signed out from the University! Our Favourite Blogger is a Graduate 🥳 :

6 thoughts on “My Project Experience and Defense

  1. Truly your a professor of life and every single blog post by you is connecting to motivating everyone to look up to God and hardwork. I will never stop coming here to get my mind set for the week am getting into. Thank You Artoftruezeal blog

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment